Understanding Domain and Forest Level’s in Windows Server environment

Microsoft has since active directory publication (2000) different domain and forest level’s published. They generally follow the windows server edition’s like 2000, 2003 and now 200´8 (R2). Each level has his own feature set and compatibility requirements on domain controller side. For some applications which are active directory integrated like Exchange it is really important to have the right configuration in your active directory environment.

How Active Directory Functional Levels Work

Active Directory Functional Levels Technical Reference

What Are Active Directory Functional Levels?

Exchange 2007 System Requirements

Exchange 2010 System Requirements



Any further thoughts? Let me know here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: